Senior Spotlight: Sop To The Top Sam Stewart!

With 3 days left till our End of Year Concert, today our Senior Spotlight goes to Sop To The Top Sam Stewart, the OG OTN founder along with David! Let’s hear what she has to say!
Yas
Major: 
Psychology
Minors: Applied Developmental Psychology, East Asian Studies
Voice Part: Soprano

How long have you been involved with OTN for?
I started OTN with David the first quarter of my first year at UCLA, fall 2013!

What are you planning to do after graduation?
I’m going to be working as a support staff teacher at the Loyola Marymount Children’s Center, supporting 6 classrooms of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers.

Describe your college experience in 3 words!
1. Busy – Since my second year I have been very involved in multiple activities! I was an RA, an undergraduate assistant, tried lots of different clubs, worked two jobs this entire year, and still tried to find time to sleep and eat!
2. Insightful – I’ve learned so much about myself, the world, and what it means to be a good person and friend in my time at UCLA! And of course, I’ve learned lots about psychology and class stuff too.
3. Motivating – I’ve had wonderful people around me, encouraging me to be my best, and my intrinsic motivation has never been higher than my time here!

Coolest class you’ve taken at UCLA and why.
I love all the classes for the Applied Developmental Psychology minor because they’re small due to the cohort system. Through those courses, I also learned so much about what I’ve applied to my fieldwork and future career! I loved learning about why baby sign is useful, and about all the different developments children make in their first few years!

If you could create one mandatory course for future seniors, what would it be?
How to Adult 101: How to keep in contact with college friends, do taxes, and deal with a world where not everyone is from UCLA.

What’s one of your most unforgettable OTN memories?
The first time OTN officially performed was a big moment for me. I was also incredibly proud of our first headlining show this year – I love every moment I get to hear all the talent in this group. We have been so incredibly lucky to work with all our fantastic members who work to keep the spirit of OTN alive.

Any last words?
When it comes to college advice: #1 – Take a ton of pictures. #2 – It’s okay if you don’t like the first thing you get involved with, you may need to search a bit before you find your place.

And I have some words to OTN – thank you so much to all of you for loving this group. It means the world to me that something that I care so deeply about has been successful, and that’s all because of y’all. OTN is the only thing that stayed consistent all four years of my college experience and I have great confidence that it will keep on going. Even more than my GPA or my diploma, it is OTN that I am most proud of.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close